REVIEW: WE WERE LIARS BY E. LOCKHART

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.

A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

 “The island is ours. Here, in some way, we are young forever” 

I’ll be keeping this review short won’t be discussing too many aspects of the plot, because I’d recommend everyone to start reading this book with little knowledge of it. That being said, a warning to those expecting a fast-paced mystery, or an intricate plot: don’t bother with this book.

We Were Liars, although it didn’t follow a plot, per se, still managed to somehow keep my attention. I don’t know if it was the fairy tales littered throughout the book (I adored those) or the melancholy tone it held, but somehow I couldn’t stop reading it.

One thing thing I noticed which upset quite a lot of people was the writing style. The sentences were choppy and fragmented, and there was a heavy usage of dramatic imagery and metaphors. While it was off-putting to many, I found myself enjoying it despite my usual hatred for writing styles similar to the one in this book.

Without being too spoilery, let me just say that I adored the ending. My tear glands had just about dried up upon completing the book, Maybe it was just my thick-headedness, but I never saw that one coming.

This is the first E. Lockhart book I’ve ever read, and I must say she made quite an impression on me. I’ll definitely look out for her future releases. To those who are contemplating upon whether or not to read the book or not, I’d say just give it a try. It’s a short read, and even if you end up hating it (which, hopefully, you won’t), you won’t regret having wasted too much time on a book.

Leave a Reply

